Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2009, 06:45 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1982 28' Airstream 280
Buena Park , California
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
Ammeter Vs Ampmeter

Working on my instrument panel and would like to know what is the difference between an ammeter or ampmeter?
kennytheecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 06:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Crusty's Avatar
 
1992 34' Excella
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 562
Images: 10
The correct term is ammeter but you rarely see it used these days. They both measure current flow.
__________________
Crusty
"If you come to a fork in the road, take it."
Lake Travis, TX
"Rancho Deluxe"
Crusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:04 PM   #3
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,582
Images: 59
It's Amp Meter (two words) not Ampmeter, which sounds awkward, so you drop the P if you are saying it fast, as one word.

Like if you're driving an airplane you use an altimeter, not an altitudimeter.
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:10 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
RBolton's Avatar
 
Belington , West Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 304
I thought an ampmeter was kinds like an aardvark.
RBolton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:18 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
aircooled4's Avatar
 
1971 31' Sovereign
1967 22' Safari
1958 22' World Traveler
Pardeeville , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 569
Blog Entries: 6
I was corrected in high school for saying 'ampmeter' ...if you look in any catalog that sells test instruments you can get an 'amp clamp' or an 'ammeter'...generally the individual meter is called an 'ammeter'
__________________
Jay (KB8VMO)
WBCCI #10917
AIR #32349
TAC #WI-2
aircooled4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:27 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Excella CM's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Venice , California
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,066
An ammeter measures amperes, but an amp meter measures amperes. They measure '&' nothing else.. It's all a matter of keeping (track 0f)current.
__________________
"Not all who are laundering are washed" say Bill & Heidi

'78 Excella 500,"The Silver Pullit". vacuum over hydraulic disc brakes, center bath, rear twin. '67 Travelall 1200 B 4X4 WBCCI 3737
Excella CM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:41 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,453
Images: 7
The politically correct term is ammeter both measure electrical current in amps.

I think the more common term is Amp Meter.

Garry
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:14 AM   #8
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawus"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , Milky Way
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16,079
Images: 1


It's a Fluke Meter....
__________________
"Any nation that can survive what we have lately in the way of government, is on the high road to permanent glory."
Molly Ivins

"Mary-Jane....'cuz 2020 sucks"

Tahawus
🌤
ROBERT CROSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 10:30 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
sander17's Avatar
 
1996 28' Excella
Okemos , Michigan
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 305
Images: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERT CROSS View Post


It's a Fluke Meter....
Naaa.
It's a Simpson meter. You young whippersnapper.

If the case isn't black bakelite, you can't trust it.........
__________________
Dave
Okemos, MI
T.V.:'05 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 Quad Cab Cummins
AIR#2276
sander17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 10:47 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
funkill's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
Tucson , AZ
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,461
Images: 27
OMG --- such appropriate timing. I was just recording some info here at work (measuring current in the shoulder of the shuttle robotic arm latching mechanism) and my counterpart kept telling me "ammeter" and I was thinking "amp meter????". I was hoping no one would discern my confusion. Thanks for clarifying this today!

Electrical stuff is not my forte - neither is robotics and now I work for a robotics company.

Oh - and we were using a clamp-on Fluke!
funkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 11:16 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
jimmini's Avatar
 
1989 29' Land Yacht
Mesa , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,758
Images: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by sander17 View Post
Naaa.
It's a Simpson meter. You young whippersnapper.

If the case isn't black bakelite, you can't trust it.........
ITS Simpson 260.
Like in hand me the 260.
If it does not swing a needle, it's not a REAL meter.
Digital
jimmini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 11:39 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
345bill's Avatar
 
Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennytheecat View Post
Working on my instrument panel and would like to know what is the difference between an ammeter or ampmeter?
the spelling
345bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 01:56 PM   #13
Master of Universe
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by 345bill View Post
the spelling
Not speeling?

Gene
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 02:02 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
345bill's Avatar
 
Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawfordGene View Post
Not speeling?

Gene
How bout eelingspa?
345bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 02:11 PM   #15
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawus"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , Milky Way
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16,079
Images: 1
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sander17 View Post
Naaa.
It's a Simpson meter. You young whippersnapper.

If the case isn't black bakelite, you can't trust it.........


Whippersnapper is it!!!!

Well.... these are MY cordless drills!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	My cordless drill.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	349.5 KB
ID:	78505  
__________________
"Any nation that can survive what we have lately in the way of government, is on the high road to permanent glory."
Molly Ivins

"Mary-Jane....'cuz 2020 sucks"

Tahawus
🌤
ROBERT CROSS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:38 PM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
1982 28' Airstream 280
Buena Park , California
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks for all the input. I thought I was going crazy. In my airstream manual there is a schematic of the instrument panel and it has a gauge labeled "Amp Meter". Another page has a schematic specific to the "Ammeter". Confusing! But thanks for getting me sorted out.
kennytheecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:56 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar
 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,550
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
On my 71 the ammeter is located in the Master Control Center in the front roo flocker.
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammeter need William8979 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 01-28-2007 07:32 PM
Ammeter smily Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 14 08-12-2002 09:09 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.