Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-09-2019, 08:24 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Tampa , Florida
Air Conditioning on battery?

Please forgive my lack of knowledge on this topic. I’m trying to read up on Airstreams before possibly getting one. I’m also new to RV’s in general which makes my learning curve even steeper. But i’’m hoping you guys can help me figure something out.

I like the idea of boon-docking as often as possible. I live in FL so one of my primary concerns is cooling off the RV interior. As I understand it, you cannot run an airstream’s ventilation fan or Air Conditioning unless hooked into shore power or using a gas or propane generator. I’m hoping to avoid carrying a generator.

Is it true that you can’t run the Air Conditioning off batteries at all?

Is there a way to get around that with solar panels and better batteries? Could you run the AIr Conditioning or the fan off the batteries for a while if you had an upgraded electrical / solar setup?
rkentb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 08:38 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 28' International
Jim Falls , Wisconsin
Nope. No can do on the battery. Or I should say not practical. If you want to run your AC you will need a portable generator that puts out close to 30 AMPS. Otherwise you would need so many batteries, panels, and a very expensive inverter (4000w inverter). It isn’t practical on an AS. It would be cheaper and less weight just to take a generator.