Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-18-2011, 03:58 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1988 25' Excella
Thunder Bay , Ontario
7 Way Trailer Cord

I have purchased an 88 Excella. I need to replace the 9 pin Trailer Cord with a 7 pin cord (to connect to my 2010 Toyota Tundra).

I am new to trailers, but an old friend of extension cords.

My Question is...
Can someone recommend a quality brand of Trailer Cord that is flexible, durable, has a good wire size, and has an end that can be easily, dependably and repeatedly connected.

A related question....
Should I get a Junction Box?

...the soon to be rookie
aname4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 05:58 PM   #2
Marshalls Corner Shop

1970 23' Safari
Clarkston , Michigan
I was an RV tech and always liked the 7 pin conns that came with the cable attached. Basically a long pigtail attached to the 7 way. You should be able to remove the cover at the front (inside) of your trailer to access where the individual wires are connected up.
drm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:01 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1956 16' Bubble
Dallas , Oregon
Yes vintage trailer supply sells a nice bargman 7pin flat style. Be sure to get one that you don't have to adapt to your vehicle or friends--- As everyone seems to have different styles. Cheers. Ted
the544man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 05:55 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
I bought a 87 Excella and had to do a conversion to get it home. I just went to Walmart and bought a 7 pin connector and put it on the 9 pin cord. Worked fine. I have a diagram here but no way to post it. There is a diagram for the 9 pin in the manual if you got one with the trailer. The 2 extra pins were for tire pressure monitor and refigerator cut off, I think.
Bill M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 06:40 PM   #5
Rivet Master