Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-26-2004, 02:06 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

'69 Land Yacht in the dark! Please HELP!

Hello!

I hope that someone out there can atleast help me begin to troubleshoot my problem.

The lights (I am assuming 12 volt? - I should note I am not good with electical things) are no longer working. The lights suddenly stopped working but the fridge and all regular outlets seem to be working fine. (I am plugged into city electric (110 volt?) at a campground)

In looking in the control box in the front of the airstream. Is this where the Univolt is? Anyway, I saw a fuse in there that I thought perhaps I had blown. I removed it, and today, found that no one in Creston, British Columbia has a 40 amp fuse. To be honest, I don't even know if this is my problem.

To continue, I bought a 30 amp instead (recommended by an RV dealer) and put it in to replace the 40 amp fuse. Nothing happened. I reset the 3 breaker switches (none of them appeared to have blown anyway) and again, nothing happened.

I bought my 69 LY last year and have used it often and although I have had MANY problems and adventures that I have fixed - electrical is definately where I am useless. My air conditioner (the cooling unit - not the fan) also seems to be about read to explode given the noises it is making.

If anyone can begin to help me trouble shoot this, please do so! I might be able to borrow someone's digital camera here in the campground and upload a photo of the control box if it would help.

Thanks!

Jen
jardiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 02:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
1979 30' Argosy
Armada , Michigan