Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2024, 07:54 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 Basecamp
Lumberton , MS
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
2018 Basecamp plugged into 220, now interior lights donít work

Went to visit friend. Said he had outlet I could plug into. Not thinking to check input plugged in and smell electrical burning. Immediately turned power off. After inspecting found that is was a 220 outlet. Using 110 jumper plugged into normal outlet and all works except inside lights. Is there a gfci outlet I canít see. I pulled all fuses and didnít see anything blown. Going to purchase meter and new fuses. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
delt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2024, 11:06 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 Basecamp
Lumberton , MS
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
Replaced all fuses, I do not appear to be getting power from battery for 12v circuits
delt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2024, 08:20 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2020 22' Bambi
Baton Rouge , Louisiana
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 13
If all 12 volt circuits aren’t working, I’d check the converter for a reset switch. Hopefully it tripped and saved your converter from burning up.
69Westy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 09:06 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
JeffKim's Avatar

 
2023 25' Globetrotter
2021 16' Bambi
Forest Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1,156
What is the battery voltage? If they are ok, then check voltage at the converter. There's also a battery fuse (not sure with a Basecamp where that might be). Ours came with MRBF (looks like a cube) on the positive terminal. But if the converter isn't powering the DC circuits, it might be fried.

Curious, did the outlet look like a standard 110V or was it a 30A outlet? With a 30A outlet we never hook up without our EMS which protects from overvoltage. But that's not any help to you now I know.
__________________
2023 Globetrotter 25FBT "Curly"
2017 Audi Q7 3.0T
WBCCI 6343
JeffKim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 10:21 AM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 Basecamp
Lumberton , MS
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
Well just hooked BC up to leave and when plugged into truck all interior lights now work. I am assume dc converter isnít working. Has anyone changed it out. Part number would be appreciated
delt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 10:36 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
JeffKim's Avatar

 
2023 25' Globetrotter
2021 16' Bambi
Forest Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt151 View Post
Well just hooked BC up to leave and when plugged into truck all interior lights now work. I am assume dc converter isnít working. Has anyone changed it out. Part number would be appreciated
You're likely getting current through the charging wire to power the lights, if you weren't aware.
__________________
2023 Globetrotter 25FBT "Curly"
2017 Audi Q7 3.0T
WBCCI 6343
JeffKim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 01:10 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 Basecamp
Lumberton , MS
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKim View Post
What is the battery voltage? If they are ok, then check voltage at the converter. There's also a battery fuse (not sure with a Basecamp where that might be). Ours came with MRBF (looks like a cube) on the positive terminal. But if the converter isn't powering the DC circuits, it might be fried.

Curious, did the outlet look like a standard 110V or was it a 30A outlet? With a 30A outlet we never hook up without our EMS which protects from overvoltage. But that's not any help to you now I know.
It was a 30A oulet, I was able to plug into, he had some wire it for him. This is definitely a lesson learned.
delt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 03:01 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
JeffKim's Avatar

 
2023 25' Globetrotter
2021 16' Bambi
Forest Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt151 View Post
It was a 30A oulet, I was able to plug into, he had some wire it for him. This is definitely a lesson learned.
I don't think you're the first one, I recall reading about someone who had a supposedly licensed electrician wire a RV outlet but instead it got wired as a 220V drier outlet and fried some things.

I don't know what they use for a converter in the Basecamp, with the newer trailers like mine it's pretty simple to replace the charger if that is an issue. But I'd also look into the battery fusing if you haven't already.
__________________
2023 Globetrotter 25FBT "Curly"
2017 Audi Q7 3.0T
WBCCI 6343
JeffKim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 07:40 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt151 View Post
Well just hooked BC up to leave and when plugged into truck all interior lights now work. I am assume dc converter isnít working. Has anyone changed it out. Part number would be appreciated
Contact bestconverter.com many on this forum have had good experiances dealing with them.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2024, 08:17 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
10Smiles's Avatar
 
2005 30' Classic
Kingston , Washington
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt151 View Post
Well just hooked BC up to leave and when plugged into truck all interior lights now work. I am assume dc converter isnít working. Has anyone changed it out. Part number would be appreciated
If that's the case, then it sounds like a battery fuse(s) are blown. You still could have converter problems though.
10Smiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2024, 08:56 AM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 Basecamp
Lumberton , MS
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
Waiting on converter, will update once replaced
delt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 10:53 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member

 
2018 Basecamp
2022 20' Basecamp
San Jose , California
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 38
I had exactly the same thing happen with my 2018 Basecamp and a poorly wired 30 amp outlet. To fix the problem just order and install these parts from bestconverter.com (2022 prices):

WF8955MBA WFCO 8955 ANP or PEC Main Board Assembly
Price: $169.00
Qty: 1

EMS-PT30X EMS-PT30X Portable EMS
Price: $229.50
Qty: 1

I installed the replacement board myself. Even though I'm not exceedingly handy, was easy to do.
I ordered the EMS to help protect my trailer from any future external faulty wiring or funky current.
madmac157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 03:51 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
2021 16' Basecamp
Greenacres , Washington
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
This thread is an advertisement for a surge protector!
vhaalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 04:37 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar
 
2022 25' Flying Cloud
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,168
use a surge protector
it will check the power
if its too high or low , it wont connect
__________________
2023 25' FB FC, hatch, Queen, 30A, 1AC, Awning pkg, Convection uwave.
Multiplus 12/3000-50, 700A Lion, MPPT 100/30, Orion-TR 30, Cerbo GX,GX touch 50, Lynx distributor, dual BMV-712, smart shunt 500A&1000A, RUUVI temp/humidity sensors
NCR , Ontario, VE3HIU since 1978
WBCCI# 21212
waninae39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 05:59 PM   #15
New Member
 
Chris151's Avatar
 
2024 20' Basecamp
Westminster , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 3
Recommendation for a surge protector?

Quote:
Originally Posted by waninae39 View Post
use a surge protector
it will check the power
if its too high or low , it wont connect
Can someone drop a link to a surge protector they recommend?
Chris151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 06:21 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1,242
Madmac157 listed what he bought (second item).
I use a Power Watchdog with Bluetooth for viewing current status through an app. The hardware plugs into the post and has led’s to display status instantly. These are always on, so it’s a giveaway to thieves. ( I never lock mine, and am not too worried about the possibility.)
Others like the kind installed inside the camper, to avoid loss to thieves or forgetfulness. It just comes down to preference.
__________________
-Don
(That man in that tiny can)
(Same man, Bigger can)
GetawA-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 08:29 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
10Smiles's Avatar
 
2005 30' Classic
Kingston , Washington
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 744
Progressive Industries installed inside the camper with a monitor display that shows line voltage, current being used, line frequency, and error code (if any). They have both 30 and 50 amp versions.
10Smiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 07:22 AM   #18
2 Rivet Member
 
2021 16' Basecamp
Greenacres , Washington
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Power Watchdog!
vhaalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2024, 09:20 PM   #19
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 Basecamp
Lumberton , MS
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 6
Sorry for the delay, had to return to work. For the one that commented this was an ad for surge protector, I wish. I ended up changing the Converter, and all issues were resolved. I purchased one off of amazon with the same part number verifying it matched my batteries installed. I did also purchase a line protector, that i can plug into the outlet prior to hooking up my BC to verify line power prior to hooking up BC. While I had the cabinet apart to check batteries, I took the time to hardwire my electric jack. Now I just need to figure out how to get replacement keys, since I have lost them. ugh
delt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugged into 110, lights still drain the batteries. 1Bombshell Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 12-12-2020 05:29 AM
Plugged or Un-plugged in the Driveway clancy_boy Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers 25 10-02-2017 01:14 PM
Trailer Brakes and Interior Lights now don't work pfcgrinner Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 07-24-2017 01:17 PM
Running Lights don't work, Other exterior lights work jrvly1976 Lights - Interior & Exterior 15 01-27-2015 09:27 PM
Interior lights don't work on battery ronsgto Lights - Interior & Exterior 3 05-27-2008 10:12 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.