Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-13-2013, 02:27 PM   #1
Have Gavel Will Travel

2006 39' A-Series
Austin , Texas
2014 Interstate 3500 Electrical Issue

I am a newbie on your site. I just purchased a 2014 Interstate 3500 coach/van. When parked I use 30 amp trickle charger. When I disconnect and go camping I cannot get my new home gel batteries to get enough juice to crank my generator on - only 10 volts, although when charging it says 12.2 volts and 100% charged! If I try to crank the generator up when engine running- no problem.

This unit is only 6 months old- why am I not able to crank generator?

I took my coach in and shop said batteries tested fine and are holding charge. By the way, I turned off all appliances including refrigerator and charged for 2 days when I was unable to crank my generator up.

ANY SUGGESTIONS?
ANYONE ELSE EXPERIENCING ELECTRICAL ISSUES ON 2013 OR 2014 INTERSTATE 3500?

Thanks,
Troubled Texas Judge
Kevin Madiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 03:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Mantua , Ohio
A 30 amp trickle charger? Do you have the battery switch on if it has one? Someone with an Interstate will chime in. Jim
xrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 11:30 PM   #3
Have Gavel Will Travel

2006 39' A-Series
Austin , Texas
Airstream Interstate 3500 House BATTERY PROBLEMS

I may not have stated this too well...I keep unit plugged in with shore line to a 220 volt 30 amp outlet and house batteries show FULLY CHARGED 100% however when I disconnect and hit the road, literally, just two hours later when I try to use house batteries to start my generator, not enough juice and battery level drops to 50%- I am thinking that one of these new LIFELINE AGM Batteries must have a dead cell that is causing power loss in battery.

Thanks
Old 12-14-2013, 05:45 AM   #4
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Mantua , Ohio