Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-06-2016, 12:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Milford , Michigan
1970 Safari Electrical Help Please

I have not found a thread to help with my dilemma, so here it is. My project continues...while replacing the subfloor the wire bundle, fuse panel and intelipower units got yanked around quite a bit. It's all put back together but now one circuit that includes the stove vent fan, furnace and overhead sink light are not working. I replaced the fuses, checked to see there is no voltage at these appliances, and checked with a jumper that these items still work properly.

I'm sure you can already tell I'm no electrician and at this point I am unsure how to proceed. It is hard to tell which circuit it is at the fuse panel. I have 4 20 amp fuses and one 5 amp (picture attached). When I use a meter, the first circuit to the left (disconnected, fuse removed in the picture) reads 12+ volts even with the fuse pulled. In other words that wire is carrying 12+ volts. The remaining circuits read no voltage but lights and things turn off when I pull the fuse (obviously powered). I would expect to see voltage on all circuits, but I don't, I obviously don't understand basic electric properties.....so I am guessing that the #1 circuit is the culprit because it is not behaving like the others, is this right? How do I find and maybe correct the issue?

One other item is the intelipower unit is making a whining sound and it appears as though the fan is having difficulty rotating. Can I take it apart and clean it?

Appreciate any advice, or spring to arrive so I don't need the heat anymore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version