Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2002, 08:04 AM   #1

12v vs 120

Hi
I'm brand new and completely scared.

The 1965 Globetrotter that I just purchased is completely gutted and I'm doing a complete remodel in time for my husband's 50th birthday. Or such is my intention anyway.

My contractor and I are confused about how to wire it. We'll be doing mostly off road camping, but might pull into a RV park every now and then. Do we use 12v or 120 or both for different fixtures or both for the same fixture?

Also, my contractor says he thinks we'll need to remove the interior skin to relocate/rewire. Is that true?

Thanks,
Jane
jane babinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2002, 08:22 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

I'm no electrician, but do know you'll need 12V to run your applliances which those wires can be ran underneath the belly of the trailer and up through the floor. One thing that I did was purchase a Honda 2000 portable generator. I used it for the first time the other day while camping. I brought a long extension cord and placed the generator about 50 ft away from the trailer. You couldn't even hear it and you have all the electricity you'll ever need with no fear of running down the batteries. The Honda unit is the quietest made and runs for about 6 hours on a small tank of gas. It's light and very small. An absolute must have!!! I gutted my interior and probably will only have a couple of 12V lights but see myself most of the time running of the Generator. Just my thoughts....

Ken

I've been told removing the interior skin is a no no....but others can answer that one.
kzener40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2002, 08:41 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Welcome Jane;

My current project is also 1965 Globetrotter. I am doing a complete rebuild of it.

Quote: