Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-05-2020, 09:40 PM   #1

Seattle , WA
Software engineer -> Full time landscape photographer

Hey folks!

I'm a software engineer from Seattle, and I will soon be leaving my job to pursue landscape photography full time. That is, until I create images I am satisfied with, or until money runs out and I go back to coding.

I recently tried out a converted sprinter van for a short road trip to BC, and immediately knew that van life is not for me. It's cramped, and your van has to go with you to all the remote trailheads. However, after looking at airstreams at a local dealer, I quickly realized that this might be the perfect solution. Bright, spacious, and can stay at a campground while I take my car up to some crazy destination. I looked at other trailers, and none of them appealed to me like this one.

Also, looking around Airbnb, it seems like I can make quite a bit of income renting out the airstream on my property while I'm traveling abroad. My backyard has alley access and a view of the Olympics and the Puget Sound, while being close to downtown Seattle, so I think it has a lot of potential!

So, I am not an Airstream owner yet, but soon I may become one. Nice to meet you all! Do my plans seem reasonable? Is there anything else I should consider? I would love to hear your thoughts.
ygar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 10:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1969 18' Caravel
Greenville , whereEverIroam