Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-18-2009, 08:07 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Williston , Florida
Second time around

I have just become the owner of a 1973 31' Soverign. After inquiring about a number of Airstreams on the internet, I purchased one 45 miles from home. Listed at: 1979 Airstream Land Yatch For Sale < Airstream Campers | Vintage-Airstream.com , it is really a 1973 model but mistitled. It towed home beautifully with my 20o2 Silverado 2500, though I was worried about the old tires on it and the frame hiding in its belly. I have had some experience with a ~24ft single axle Airstream I had for several years in the late 60's, but am basically starting out anew with this one. I purchased it primarily to have an extra sleeping quarters for my friends when they come up for UF football games since my two 30+yo daughters have moved in the house with their 3 children after some economic and significant other problems. But my wife and I will also enjoy getting out in the AS for long weekends (Semi Retired-20/hr per week but with cattle, 3 horses, minature donkeys and horses, chickens, emus, and about 60 breeding exotic birds (parrots) on our 30 acre farm. Depending on the frame condition when I unbutton it, we might take a longer trip this summer in flat areas (think I am underpowered to pull in hilly areas). I have already parked the AS on our property and used it for a registration center for about 100 cavers who camped here for annual get together. The A&E awning on the trailer turned out to be in good condition and great for some chairs and tables to register the participants. My plans now are to put some new tires and alum wheels on it, check out the elec with the new deepcell 27 I bought, replace the right turnsignal rear light (hopefully a bulb only) and check out the propane appliances. Some previous owner has replaced the toilet with a n