RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 11-01-2020, 09:31 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Los Angeles , California
Photographer seeking right solution

Hi. I'm a landscape photographer SoCal and my goal is to hit the road for extended trips to photograph National Parks such as Glacier and mosey through the Oregon Coast, Paluouse in WA etc. I'm thinking each trip could be weeks at a time. It's just me and my dog.

I have a budget of $200K and I'm trying to decide on an Interstate vs a Caravel or Flying Cloud. Each has its obvious advantages and disadvantages.

I've been reading these forums for quite some time and I'm dismayed at all the issues the trailers have: most seem to be electrical, which is my weakest point.

I want to be taking pix, not visiting dealers for recalls and endless repairs on stuff that should work but doesn't. The Interstate is an easier package for obvious reasons but just have the same advantages as say, a 22" Caravel. On the other hand, storage is a big issue and I don't have a driveway do I'll have to pay for RV storage monthly. A Sprinter makes life easier.

I'm open to any advice and in no hurry to make a decision. I know there's plenty written here about trailer vs Sprinter but you just don't want to make the wrong decision. I'm probably going to try and rent both and see how I like them.

Looking forward to input from the pros here.

Thank you.
Photoshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 09:56 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2021 27' International
Carrollton , Texas
Buy a 2-3 year old unit that has already had the bugs shaken out of it. Every RV is a "do-it-yourselfer." You'll need to learn about all the systems to keep it working. It's a house that undergoes earthquakes on every outing.
You need to be honest with yourself - do you really want the RV... or would you be better served with an awesome SUV and a frequent guest card at <some hotel chain here>?