Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-14-2021, 12:13 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2019 27' Flying Cloud
San Ramon , California
Newbie Needing Advice

Hello!

I'm a newbie-like-you-wouldn't-believe!!

My wife and I had a "plan', it was more a dream, really - to buy an Airstream "sometime in the near future" and tour this beautiful country of ours with my parents (both in their 80's). The household got hit by covid in Dec, we all survived, but it gave us an appreciation that nothing in life is guaranteed. We decided to speed up our search and get an AS ASAP, every day lost is a day that's not coming back ever. As luck would have it we found pretty much exactly what we were looking for this past Tuesday, and were ecstatic to buy it on Thursday. We think our 28' Flying Cloud FB Twin is amazing!

Here's my request for advice - I still haven't bought a TV. The AS is still stored with the previous owner. My thought was to rent a few trucks or SUV's in the next month or so over every weekend and decide which one fits our needs. My question is - is this feasible at all? Is it too much work to keep changing TV's every weekend or so? Am I smoking crack? Would you recommend this approach? Should I just hunker down and buy a TV already?

Please let me know what you think. Any thoughts would be deeply appreciated.

Best,
Riveted2021
Riveted2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2021, 12:40 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
Rochester , WASHINGTON
Hey Newbie!
This should be fun.Buy the biggest tow vehicle you can.
A 3/4 Ton, ( or larger ) will be ideal.
In a perfect world, everyone would be towing a Basecamp/ Bambi, or larger Airstream, with a dually tow truck.