Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-05-2011, 11:23 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Livermore , California
Newbie here. Very excited!

This is my first post here, very excited about wanting an airstream,but kind of discouraged about reading all the leaks and rebuilds on these trailers. I live here in california, Livermore actually wanting a 27' but not sure what to look for, I am married with two boys 4 and 7 year old we love camping, currently tenting it. I want to move forward to a airstream and only want to do this once, something we can grow into and out of any suggestions would be great. thanks for a great forum, Dennis
Overworked75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 12:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Welcome Newbie...

The good news is that you have a lot of choices and options! The less good news is that some of them will lead down bad paths... A 27' trailer is a large upgrade from a tent, and first challenge will be pulling it.. That is at upper end of what can be done with Pickup Truck/SUburban without going to the 3/4 Ton versions.. Do-able, but you won't be flying up the Grapevine or over the Siskayou's on way to Oregon...

You ask here to get get feelings and opinions, so here is mine... Newbies should resist urge to start with semi-wrecked fixer-uppers with holes in shell, rotten floors, rusted frames and broken or missing appliances.. Too much work, money and skills required to get to useful place with a project like that...

If money is not a problem, new is always nice.. You can get shiny new 27' Front Bedroom versions for $60K+.. If that were the case, you'd probably already own one...

That realistically leaves 3 choices: