Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-05-2011, 07:29 PM   #1

Merrick , New York
Newbie Help Please with purchase

Hi All,

I am looking to buy a used Airstream. Preferably a 1960's or 70's. I can't afford a 50's, the wood insides are a work of art. I have a 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee AWD with a 6 cyl 4.0 motor. I have no idea what is the safest size to use with my car. Is a 22 or a 24 footer safe? I want to find one that is possibly original or 2nd owner.I want to replace all beds and couches. I want to be able to go over the whole Airstream and have a unit that will not break down on the road. If I have to add a new axle I will before I even go out. I was a mechanic before I retired, so repairing a unit will be something that I do myself. I also have done home plumbing & electric so I am familiar with how things work. If the stove breaks down, I can buy on the road a charcoal BBQ. I am not worried about this, but I do want the unit to be pulled with no headache. I like the vibe of an older unit and the price too. Like most, my money is tight so I need the best advice that I can get. My wife wants A/C, I do not care but I have to make her happy and want to go camping. I have an 11 YO son, so it will be for the 3 of us. Before I get any answers I want to thank everyone for their time.
Thanks
Jack
jaguarmk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 07:31 PM   #2

Merrick , New York
Newbie Help Please with purchase

Hi All,

I think that I put this in the wrong section, so I am doing it again here.