Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-24-2006, 09:30 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Portland , Oregon
Newbie, and I said I wouldn't buy sight unseen.

And not only that, I should have done research in this forum too.
Anyhow, after spending several months searching in the Pacific North West, I decided that I may need to do some traveling to get the right AS. I missed out on what might have been a couple of good deals but overall the North West, and west in general seem somewhat void of Airstreams. The thought of having to travel to Florida or Texas just wasn't appealing. Did I mention I'm a newbie, and I don't own a towing vehicle?
Cut to the chase, I bought this:
http://adcache.rvtraderonline.com/3/9/1/82864791.htm
Sight unseen, like I said I wouldn't.
Is it overpriced? Well, a real average one just went for $7500 on Ebay and this one was above average in my opinion. In fact, from the pictures, it appears to be one of the cleanest I've seen regardless of price.
But there several undeniable selling points for us.
1. It's on the west coast.
2. They included a towing vehicle for $500, one that the original owners used with the AS. an 1988 Ford club wagon with 60K.
3. It's from a dealership and they are vouching for it's roadworthiness.

Regardless I'm nervous. I've never done anything like this before, but my logic was that If I was going to find the right AS I was going to have to travel and spend a bit on it...

We'll be flying down to San Diego on Friday and I can't wait as we'll get to spend a couple of days camping on our way back home. Unfortunately, we won't be to get the AS outfitted for the trip, we'll just pack blankets and pillows and wing it.