Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2017, 08:39 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
Satellite Beach , Florida
NEWBIE 1969 31' Sovereign rescued from the woods

Hello all! I am a newbie to the forums but not a newbie to vintage trailers. I have however, realized that the AS is a completely different beast when it comes to restoration. I recently pulled a '69 from abandon, quite literally I had to use an excavator to pull her out, and have since been prepping to gut and renovate. There are a few key items off the bat that I would like to get feedback if possible. First, do I need to order complete replacement axle kits from ASsupply or is there an alternative? Secondly, the last 4 ft of the frame, beneath the bathroom is severely damaged, I would like to rebuild, but would like input as to recommended, or OEM, size of C Channel and cross members? Any and all feedback is appreciated!
ASHeron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 12:09 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
40 people looked at this thread before me, but none of them welcomed you to the Forums. Time to correct that oversight, so… Welcome to the AirForums! We're glad to have you with us.

I don't have good answers to your questions, but I would say that new axles are probably in your future. Without knowing what shape the old ones are in, the fact that it was partially buried when you found it is the best indicator we have that the axles are too far gone to salvage.

I don't have answers regarding the frame channel and cross-member sizes. But channel sizes are standardized in the US, so you can find the right size with a tape measure (or better, a caliper if you have one, as in this photo)

and this webpage:
http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/am...ls-d_1321.html
Old 07-29-2017, 06:40 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign