Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-05-2016, 07:45 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1961 26' Overlander
Sarasota , Florida
New member near Tampa, ISO AS for travel fall 2017

Hi, all~ I am looking to buy a trailer so my daughter and I can travel next fall for 6 months after she graduates and before I relocate. I am brand new to this world, so welcome any suggestions on size, what vehicle to get to tow (I don't think my Fiat will work), etc. We will be travelling with our 2 50 lb dogs and 1 11 pounder, so I think having some space (more than, say, a Bambi) would be cool. Especially since it will be our home base for so long- might be mine for longer, who knows. Glad to be here!
Josefine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 08:09 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Saint Petersburg , Florida
My suggestion would be to go to the Airstream dealer in Dover, head right for the 30footers and see which floor plan would work best for you. 2 50lb dogs will take up a LOT of floor space when they're on all fours. As well, you're gonna have to take their size into consideration as to tow vehicle. Most 3/4 ton and 1 ton pickups will tow 30 foot Airstream with ease. But, you sure won't have room for 3 dogs in just a 2 door pickup. Definitely extended cab or 4 door for sure.
You don't mention, are you in the market for new or used Airstream. There's a Classifieds section here on the forum.
Oh, while in the Airstream trailers, try and figure out, how much 'stuff' you'll be able to take along. You won't be able to carry a closet full of clothes, and 30 pairs of shoes. You'll need to watch a couple episodes of those living Tiny Homes shows.