Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2014, 01:59 PM   #1
Kei
Hope

1971 23' Safari
Anthem , Arizona
Question New Member Intro looking to buy 1st Airstream!

Hello,

My wife and I began our quest yesterday to purchase an Airstream and quickly realized that we need to do more research before we pick our favorite. As a Project Manager, I over plan and analyze to make the best informed decision and appreciate all feedback you can provide to help us narrow our search. Some details:

a. Budget: $30K - $50K. New vs. Used: Don't think our budget allows us to consider new unless we consider the Sport series, but we favor the Flying Cloud and International Serenity series.

b. Constraint1: I have 2014 Toyota Tacoma with tow package (rated 6,500lbs), so thinking 23' is the biggest I could/should tow.
1st Q: Is 25FB too big to haul with Toyota Tacoma?

c. Time: Willing to search for 6 - 18 months to find our dream Airstream.
2nd Q: Have used 23FB, 23D or 23C Flying Clouds historically come up for sale often?

d. Constraint2 - Quality: Willing to buy older Airstream, but want the exposed aluminum interior and panoramic view front, and prefer the LED lighting.
3rd Q: What years in the Flying Cloud and International Series are we limited to with these constraints?

e. Risk: Picking the wrong one!
4th Q: We love the dinette or the couch in front for the panoramic views, but think it may be more important to have the larger, more accessible bed with extra storage found in the FB. If anyone has had a similar decision to make, please share your thoughts.

I hope my first thread is not considered too long and we greatly appreciate any guidance you can provide us. Looking forward to joining the Airstream family!
Kei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 04:07 PM   #2
2013 Int. Sig 23D

2013 23' International
Des Moines , Washington