Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-15-2012, 08:44 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1987 29' Sovereign
St Augustine , Florida
New guy! Any advice?

Hello from the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine. I have been nosing around on these forums for a couple of months and am beginning to do some research on an Airstream for a longish sabbatical tour of the western US and perhaps Mexico..I have lived on sailboats in the past and have many miles as a delivery captain, yacht manager etc.

I'm most curious if there is a concise guide to the models, ie layouts etc. I'm of the opine that we will likely find a suitable trailer, and then I will refresh the interior and go through the systems, setting up to suit need. It would appear that many Airstream systems, both engineering and maintenance are similar to the long distance cruising boat world.

It would seem that something about 25-28 would be a good fit, small enough for the older sites, but still have room for an extended cruise. No need for berths for 6 we just need sleeping for 2 a nice galley and some lounge space. Again, I think some modifications will probably been needed, and since that is old hat to me I think that will be the way to go..so tinfoil suit on..what do I need to know!.? Seriously this seems like a great wealth of information and I just wanted to join And introduce myself..thanks.
AdamFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:12 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Adam

Welcome to the forum.

You will have at least one leg up on other newbies since you have lived self contained on a sailboat. You may not feel the need to be teathered to utilities as much as other Airstreamers.