Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2021, 05:43 PM   #1

2022 20' Basecamp
Fort Lauderdale , Florida
New Basecamp 20x Owners

Hi,
My wife and I ordered a 20x back in July and it’s expected next month so we’re pretty excited!
We intend to base her in Western NC in spring and summer and Florida in the winter, for now.
I’ve lived on various boats but I’m new to camping and towing and really looking forward to getting going.
TomHout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 06:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Welcome to these Airstream Forums. I'm afraid I know little about the Basecamp. But these Forums have all kinds of information about them. I guess I should study up.

Congratulations and enjoy the adventures.

David
WBCCI #8607 VAC Region 11
KnowledgeBase trailer renovation threads: 69 Globetrotter, 76 Sovereign, 75 Overlander, 66 Trade Wind Such fun !
dbj216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 08:04 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
TomHout,
Congratulations on the new trailer, and the new lifestyle! Your experience on the boats will serve you well, but trailering will involve bringing "stuff" along to take advantage of all the land based recreational opportunities. You'll become well versed in space management and staying within tow limits. (loads of background on this forum, npi)
We follow a similar schedule. I don't know how far west in NC you have your base, but I can say, ignore any GPS route that takes you close to Atlanta. Georgia has a lot of great state park campgrounds, so we drive the two lanes, and always stay overnight here and there enroute between bases. Just follow the speed limit to avoid meeting new people with wide brim hats.