Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-21-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 27' Overlander
Savannah , Georgia
New and Need Help! 74 Overlander

Hello from Savannah, GA!

My hubby and I are currently in search of the right Airstream for us. We have stumbled upon two 1974 Overlanders; one that seems to be in good shape inside and out and the other fairly good on the outside but definite work on the inside.

Our goal with the Overlander is to create a space that is functional for us and our two labs. I am a photographer and graphic designer and my husband is a filmmaker, so we would like to add a modern spin to the interior. We plan on full-timing for a couple of years.

With this in mind, would it be better and more cost efficient in the long run to purchase the one that is in good shape all around at a higher price or the other at a lower price?

We have read several threads on the rear baths and separation and would like to move the bath to the center (this would also allow for the bedroom to be in the rear, which I prefer). Any suggestions on this as well would be greatly appreciated!

There is a airstream, vintage travel trailer place in South Carolina that we would like to do the work but after three phone calls and no return calls we are giving up that for now and hoping to find answers here.

We are completely new to this so suggestions and reality checks are welcomed.

The nicer one: 6500 price negotiable.-current owner has had the rv dealership look over and all systems seem to be running fine.
The ok one: 3500 price negotiable.-systems have not been checked out.

We have the buyer's checklist in hand when we go to inspect them next weekend.