Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-02-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Hilton Head , South Carolina
My Journey begins

I am a professional woodworker/problem solver that has become fascinated with all the historical aluminum trailers being restored and modified. My significant other and I are both in our 50's and looking to simplify our lives and live with a far smaller footprint in the near future. We are 5 years away from leaving the Lowcountry of South Carolina and re-locating to the Austin Texas area. I intend to continue working on projects that interest me, which so far has included residential/commercial/marine millwork and cabinetry, and specialized fabrication and installation.
We are putting together ideas for a trailer that we would work on for the next 2 years to use for travel and exploration as well as temporary housing when we relocate. The interest in airstreams and other artistic aluminum legacy rv's seems to be very strong, so I look forward to learning for our own adventure as well as a means to put my talents to use to augment a number of other interests that would fuel and finance our "retirement".
So far I seem to be drawn to the body styles and technology that was in the 70's airstreams in the 25-30 foot range as my starting point. I am curious to hear people's opinions, with far more experience than me, about different era's strengths and weaknesses. Were there decades or models with better running gear, stronger frames, better systems??? I know a lot of this stuff is very subjective, but I am looking at tons of pictures and reading peoples stories and just trying to build a knowledge base to make a better decision when the time comes to pull the trigger and start my journey.
I appreciate the welcome to the community and look forward to asking lots of questions
4dougstream is offline   Reply With Quote