Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2012, 10:41 AM   #1
Ahem, yasss ...kaff-kaff

1969 27' Overlander
Bloomington , Indiana
Meet Betty my 1969 Overlander

Hello Everyone,

A new guy here who just purchased my first Airstream, Betty, so named for whom I assume to be the original owner, according to the name tag above the door: "Custom Built Riviera for Betty M. Labriola".

Myself, I'm an old carpenter/contractor who's looking forward to retirement and Betty will be my temporary residence while I (at last!) build a home for myself. She'll also travel about some, so my first task is to replace the axles which I'm ordering from Colin Hyde after reading at length here on the forum. Thanks to the wealth of information I have no doubt that I can do it and I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to post their experiences about not only this, but just about every facet of owning and living in these marvelous aluminum escape pods!

Betty needs some TLC as you can imagine and it is my hope as I fix and repair that I learn a few things that would be applicable to building a tiny house which is something I intend to do at a leisurely pace to keep busy during the "golden" years. For more info on this subject: Tiny House Design
Part of my new residence will include a shop building big enough to house Betty and build tiny houses, as well.

The other pressing issue replacing the new carpet installed by the P.O. (Me & carpet don't get along!) with cork flooring. Has anyone ever done this? I've installed it on the job and in my home but wondered if there were any tips that might apply for this particular application.

Anyway, it's good to be a part of this group and I look forward reading and learning more.

My best to you all,

Egad!

Here's a few pics, the last featuring the most awesomest tow vehicle ever, thanks to Clessie Cummins!
Attached Thumbnails