Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-18-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Flagstaff , Arizona
Longwinded Hello from Flagstaff!

Howdy!

I'm fairly new to the whole Airstream thing but definitely not to living out of and working on small mobile spaces. I have a good friend who purchased an Airstream a few years ago with intentions if a modest renovation (you can probably see where this is going) and then living out of it full time while working seasonally as a field biologist. Needless to say, he didn't realize how big of a job he was getting himself into and ended up putting the trailer in storage for the last few years in rather sorry shape. After a phone conversation recently, he mentioned that if I were interested in continuing the project, the trailer was mine for the taking...so I went and had a look...

In his renovation attempt, he found that the PO had laid down pine flooring directly on top of the original(?) laminate, so he ripped that out, then realized that the entire subfloor needed to be removed as there was a good bit of rotten floor (most of it.) He also decided that a wood stove would be a great addition, so he removed the old furnace (as well as most of the other built in cabinetry and appliances) cut a hole in the top of the shell for a chimney pipe and then got back to thinking about the floor and realized that he didn't have the time, finances, or energy to devote to the project and let it sit in an outdoor storage lot for the last three years (prescott, az) without even a tarp over the hole in the roof. That is about all I know about the history of the trailer.