Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-31-2007, 01:42 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 22' Argosy 22
Frederick , Maryland
Just got a '76 Argosy 22'

Well, I didn't just get the trailer, but it was marooned in a repair place for a while. I am a newbie. I have never spent any time in a trailer or RV of any kind. I love the look of the Argosy and wanted a mobile hotel room. My trailer will mainly be a hotel room at dog shows so I can be closer to my friends with fancier rigs. No hookups at these events. While in the repair zone, I got new propane tanks, lots of new water lines, and a new hot water heater. The furnace was a health hazard so it is gone for now. I don't intend to use the trailer when it is that cold. I will probably spend the money on generators first since I have a good space heater. I can't tell if any of the lights work since I don't know what runs off the 12 volt. Any help would be appreciated. I have to investigate the valves from the wasted tanks this weekend. I think the repair place checked the tanks and the valves. I hope so.

The fun has just begun.
Gambrinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Gambrinus -- Welcome to the Forums! Sounds like you've done your homework on the jobs to prioritize. These units are pretty easy to winterize and we have a lot of help to offer there. Your space heater will work well until a simple thermometer tells you the plumbing space along the roadside floor is getting too cold -- your furnace will keep that area much warmer in temps below the mid-20s (the furnace duct actually follows the plumbing aft).