Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-28-2005, 07:12 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2001 19' Bambi
Running Springs , California
Cool I'm new to Airstream

Hello, all!

Hi! My name is George. I live in the mountains of Southern California. I just plunked down a couple grand more for a 19' 2001 Bambi than NADA guidelines indicate. I did it only after scouring the forum for all of the information regarding evaluations that I could find. The fact a 19' Airstream at NADA valuations doesn't exist helped. I was pretty glad to find one relatively close by, though.

After outfitting my family with all the great car camping conveniences in existence, I announced we were getting a trailer. I attended the RV show at the Pomona fairgrounds recently and after seeing the Airstream exhibit I knew I wouldn't be happy with anything else. The only problem was I couldn't afford $35,000.00+ for something to take my daughter camping in for a weekend a month. Suddenly, I went from the mindset of getting a new trailer to that of a used Airstream. Thus begannath the lessons of purchasing a used Airstream...

I really only felt comfortable with buying after I found and processed the information that everyone has spent their time sharing in these forums--thank you, thank you, thank you!

My tow vehicle is a modified 1987 Toyota Land Crusier, FJ 60. I retained the original in-line 6 and though it is nicely modified it is underpowered, for sure. I use it for off-road, too, but the fact is I would get in it and drive it around the world without giving it another thought.

I would love to offer courtesy parking, but I don't even have room for my new toy.

Again, thanks for all the information that enabled me to make an intelligent decision regarding my trailer!

-Happy trails!
geosouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 07:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1951 21' Flying Cloud
1960 24' Tradewind