Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-25-2008, 08:00 PM   #1
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
San Antonio , Texas
Howdy - We're Seriously Looking

Hello, AS Forum. You all have been absolutely superb as a detailed source of advice, and for helping us decide to make the move to AS this year. I've been towing a conventional lightweight TT for 3 years, but am actually looking to trade down in size - but up in quality. I come from an RV-ing family tradition, and my Dad always had his eye on Airstreams, he just couldn't quite convince himself on the price of a new unit.

We have our eye on the new Safari Sport 22, or a Bambi 19, to be towed behind a 2003 Ford Explorer 4.6 V8, 3.73 rear, Class III/IV factory tow package, (7000 lb rating), and a Hensley-Arrow hitch, that has handled a 4400 lb loaded trailer quite well.

We look forward a lot of learning and enjoyment.

John W
Whizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 10:04 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1963 16' Bambi
1962 22' Safari
Yreka , California
Hello John and Welcome!

This is an awesome forum with lots of great folks, good information, and fun things to do! There are several different threads on both the newest Airstreams and Vintage. If you are truly looking here is a thread that has some good food for thought ~ it will be easy for you to skip through it if you are a seasoned trailerite!

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f353...eam-22920.html

Good luck finding just the right A/S! You might also check the rally calendar and see if there are any rallies in your neck of the woods... attend one and talk to folks that have newer A/S and see what they think!

Mrs. NorCal Bambi traveling in S Tradis ~ from the Great State of Jefferson