Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-17-2007, 10:25 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Los Angeles , Massachusetts
How much space does one girl need?

Hi Everyone,

I'm Myra, and I'm new to the forum. A bit about me: I'm a 43-yr-old single woman with a small dog and a cat. I'm a writer and my work goes where I go. (Just need a high-speed connection). Last year, I worked real hard and made good money, but it nearly killed me. I had no life. What's more, the cost of living here in Los Angeles (where I live) is so outrageous that I had nothing left over. What a waste. I'll be dead in a few years if I keep it up.

I started looking at vintage Airstreams the other day and fell in love. I've been researching living in an RV full time. I would love to tour the country and just be free for once in my life. I want to do this for a year. When I find a town I like enough, I'll put down roots.

So my question is: How big of an Airstream do I need? Any suggestions on what to buy? And what do I tow it with? I'll probably need a new reliable SUV to pull it with.

Thanks for your suggestions..

Myra Winter
mwinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 10:52 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1964 17' Bambi II
Santa Cruz , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwinter

Hi Myra,

Welcome to the forums, you ask and we'll ansewer.

Something in the 20' to 25' range would be comfortable for full timing.

A suggestion... pick your trailer first, then the T/V (tow vehicle).

1964 17' Bambi II
2005 Dodge 2500 PowerWagon -5.7 Hemi
WBCCI #4207
AIR #11485

"you don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows" ~bob dylan
S C Streamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 11:00 PM   #3