Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-07-2010, 05:29 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Tennille , Georgia
Hello- Utter newbie here

Hi! As the title says, I'm the new owner of a used Airstream. I'm also pretty clueless when it comes to said Airstream.

We (My family and I) bought 25 acres in the sticks of Georgia to Homestead, planning to build a small farm. I invited my folks to come down and stay, they brought their Airstream. After about 7 months, they decided this life was a little too hard on them (Generator power only, no utilities), and went back to the city. They left us their 70something Airstream Landyacht, to helps us get by while building a proper cabin. And this is where the fun begins!

The trailer was top of the line at one time, and had all the upgrades. Vista windows built in radio and 8 track, etc. But, being 30 some years old, it has been hacked and patched, so I can't be sure of how much still matches the manual. This really isn't too important, as I plan on gutting it, and turning it into a 50's style diner once the cabin is done. Until then, I'm just trying to keep the yacht from sinking

Where do I start? Winter is setting in, and the breeze blows through various openings. The heater is stubborn to start, and when it does, flares out like a flame thrower- I still smell burnt hair from starting it the night before last! The toilet pedal broke, so the flap only opens part way under best efforts... it's a good thing we have the outhouse! The awning is ripping free, and the support arms are broken. Other than that, it's not too shabby

So, I'll be here on a pretty regular basis, trying to figure out how to patch things up. Please understand, I have no idea of what is what, or even the proper names of various parts. Please, bear with me?
Capt Quirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:01 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1964 22' Safari
1968 26' Overlander