Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-12-2006, 11:35 AM   #1

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Las Cruces , New Mexico
Thumbs up Greetings From the Beaver State/Help w/Winterizing

Good day to everyone ! I'm a rookie Airstream owner, approaching retirement in June '07. Last February my wife and I purchased a brand new 25' Airsream Safari FB SE. We are enjoying practicing retirement with our new trailer and tow vehicle. ('06 Chev Silverado LT 6.0L 4dr short box w/Leer canopy)
We are brand new to the experience of owning a trailer and truck.
During the winter months is it necessary to remove the deep cell batteries and put them on a trickle type charger?
Thanks for the help and I look forward to many rewarding years participating in Airstream Forums and especially Airstreaming.
Happy Holidays!

bschnebr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:52 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
It depends...

Welcome, and it sounds like a good plan for retirement...

As for batteries, decision to remove depends on your access to trailer and climate.. If it is really cold (below freezing regularly) and trailer will be left unattended for weeks at a time (like in storage..) then I'd remove batteries, keep warm and put on intelligent charger...

If temps not so cold, and trailer alongside house, equally effective solution is to plug trailer in for a couple days every other week or so, assuming none of the appliances or other internal loads are connected...