Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-09-2007, 09:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2007 23' Safari SE
San Diego , California
Greetings from San Diego

I am a retired pediatric occupational therapist, who has been reading the postings on this site for over a year. 20 years ago, I was active in tent camping but foolishly set it aside to focus on my career. With retirement, I am having a jolly time rediscovering the child within me and again enjoying camping.

I have had my 2007 23’ Safari SE/LS since last month. The information gained from this forum has been invaluable in avoiding the errors/frustrations of a newbie. It has been a lot of hard work researching and finding out what works for me. 2air’s postings have been very helpful.

This past month has been an incredible journey of learning the operation of and preparing our rig for future adventures. I am a docent at the Cabrillo National Monument doing 1887 history interpretation, the time period that the Old Pt. Loma lighthouse has been refurbished to. My plan is to travel about California and learn about its early history with the goal of sharing my knowledge with the public. Bringing history alive is a lot of fun and a reminder to not take our human rights for granted.

I chose "Fenghuang" as my handle since it is the name of our tow vehicle/AS trailer. "Feng" is the name of the male Chinese phoenix (tow vehicle) and "Huang" for the female (trailer). The female, "Yin", as noted in Feng Shui, is the moon and represented as silver. The male, "Yang", is fire, a nice match for the Ford 250 PSD. Fenghuang is a fitting name since I took delivery of the rig on the new moon.