Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2013, 05:20 PM   #1

1972 21' Globetrotter
Sandy Mush , North Carolina
First-timer.. about to set out!

Hello! I have been gifted a 1972 AS Globetrotter Land Yacht. It is in adequate shape, but has some rough spots. I haven't had a chance to plug it in anywhere and the battery is dead, but have been assured that "everything works". Well, I got a brake controller installed on my truck (Tekonsha Voyager) and it glows green, but I haven't been able to make the trailer wheels skid with the brake controller on full power. The trailer lights and signals work, though. Do I need to have some charge on the AS battery to get the brakes working? I read that this is true for the breakaway controller.. but I assumed basic braking functions would be powered from the TV. As you can see, I am a total novice with trailers.. any help is appreciated. Hopefully it is ok to jump right in and start asking questions in my introductory post! I am hoping to hit the road tomorrow, driving it 1,200 miles from Austin TX to Asheville NC.
sinthome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International
Apache Junction , Arizona
The rolling topography of I-40 going through Tennessee and the Smokies will definitely require operational brakes on the trailer. I would strongly suggest making sure they work by trying a local gravel road and seeing if you can lock any wheels on gravel. If not, there may not be much brake capacity at all for pavement.

TV - 2012 Dodge 2500 4x4 Cummins HO, automatic, Centramatics, Kelderman level ride airbag suspension, bed shell

2014 31' Classic w/ twin beds, 50 amp service, 1000 watt solar system, Centramatics, Tuson TPMS, 12" disc brakes, 16" tires & wheels
switz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:50 PM   #3

1972 21' Globetrotter