Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-01-2009, 12:16 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Aransas Pass , Texas
First time Airstream owner - yea, I'm a newbie...

My wife and I have been looking for an aluminum travel trailer to put my shop into before September when I retire from the Navy and we move to Colorado. This past weekend we picked up a '73 Soverign 31' for $1500 from an ad in the paper.

The PO partially gutted it and ran a jewelry buisness inside the trailer for a few years. The furniture is all gone and there are benches all the way around most of the walls. For me, this is perfect. I was looking for one that had a solid shell and frame (oops...) that I could put benches and work tables in for my gunsmith shop. Since the PO already did that, I don't have to feel guilty about hacking up an otherwise good vintage AS.

There's some severe floor rot around the door area and the rear bath area seems to be slightly sloping down towards the rear bumper. I'll be planning to replace floor and reinforce the frame behind the axle soon. First I'll completely gut the interior, what's left of it anyway, to make room for the repairs and allow for a more thourough inspection of the frame.

This website has already given me a lot of insight on what to look for and I plan to keep referring back to it as I work through the project.

See y'all around!
Paul
GoMopar440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 06:38 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 29' Ambassador
Walnut Cove , North Carolina