Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-29-2014, 09:33 AM   #1
Yertle01.com

2006 22' International CCD
Estes Park , Colorado
Equalizer Hitch: Necessary or Overkill?

Hi Airstreamers, I'm a newbie and novice that's really happy to be here. Just bought a 2006 22' International CCD from a local Airstream dealer. I don't take possession until next week but have a question before I do so. I am adding solar and converting to 6-volt batteries, so I estimate dry weight at well under 5,000 lbs. I'll be towing with a 2014 4WD short-bed Ford F-150 super crew cab with tow package that includes a tow/haul feature and anti-sway feature. The Airstream dealership is recommending I purchase an Equalizer (brand name) hitch at nearly $900 installed. My question is simple, is this necessary or overkill? Thanks in advance for any help -- much appreciated.
TRizzuti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 09:55 AM   #2
Living Riveted since 2013

2016 Interstate Lounge Ext
Green Cove Springs , Florida
Equalizer Hitch: Necessary or Overkill?

Given you're running a 1/2 ton truck I'd suggest you use a weight distribution hitch of some kind, especially with those heavier batteries up front.

Oh, and welcome to the forum! You'll find plenty of threads here on this subject, btw.

Rocinante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 10:04 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2009 23' FB Flying Cloud
Canmore , Alberta
TR, welcome to the forums.

A weight equalizing hitch with sway control is a good idea. The price quoted by the dealer for the Equalizer is too high IMO (he has a captive audience).