Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-15-2006, 06:23 AM   #1

Saratoga Springs , New York
Question Contemplating Bambi

Hi Folks,

My name is Johnny Miller and I'm contemplating buying either an Airstream Bambi 16 or 19. This will be my first travel trailer.

Here's what I want to do.
I'm an adventure research consultant who plans kayaking events and writes a guide book in New York state. So I've decided to use an Airstream as my office. I want to be able to use it year round. Are they warm enough in the winter? How much should I budget for propane?

On the weekends my wife and new born baby girl will be joining me as we hit the slopes around Vermont.

Tow Vechile
Currently I have a 1999 GMC Safari with 81,000 miles on it. This is my second Chevy van and am a little hesitant about investing in electric breaks and a tow hitch for this vechile, because I don't feel that my GMC is realiable and it doesn't have great fuel efficency. I would like to get some sort of Toyota truck.

Any feedback or suggestions are appreciated.

Johnny MIller
jmadvenutres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 06:46 AM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
A great big welcome to the Forums, Johnny Miller. You'll find all the info you need here. Use the search function to locate many past posts on the issues that you are asking about.

Here's my read on what you are asking.

For 2 1/2 people, the 19' foot is probably better, especially since you want to work out of it. The 16' does not have separate black and grey water tanks.

Winter camping is possible. Airstreams are really quite cozy if you are set up properly.