Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-26-2010, 12:53 PM   #1

Santa Ana , California
Airstream Wanna-newbie

Hi all, my name is Pat and I'm an artist who is finishing Grad school this semester and teaching undergrad classes. Right now I am at a transition point in my life and I've decided I want to invest my time and money into restoring a classic Airstream trailer to live in for the following reasons: Right now I live in a small apartment but have a very large studio, and I'd like to keep that space ratio going, and it seems having an airstream would allow me to spend the vast majority of my rent money on studio space rather than living space. I'm looking for college teaching jobs for Fall 2011, and I anticipate having to move from Southern California, my current location. Usually it takes me 2-3 years to get my apartment just the way I like it, and having an Airstream would allow me to move around, but still have a living space that stays the same. Plus Airstream trailers are just awesome, they're classy and quirky, retro and futuristic, basically all around neato.

I went to a new Airstream dealership and I found a Flying Cloud that would suit my needs perfectly, but unfortunately the $60,000 asking price is WAY out of my price range. However, it seems vintage Airstreams in the 23-30 something foot range that perhaps need some restoration are available for $3000-$6000.

I'm a painter and until recently wasn't very handy, but I've been living with sculptors recently and now I feel pretty competent working in the woodshop and using tools. Still, I'm sure the restoration will be a huge learning process, but luckily there seem to be many resources online.