Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-01-2007, 10:04 PM   #1

Pocatello , Idaho
Advice needed on purchasing an AS trailer

Hello:

I am thinking about purchasing a new or used Airstream trailer and joined this forum to learn more about them.

I am a conservation biologist who works with amphibians and reptiles in the Northern Intermountain West (mostly Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana). I currently use a 1997 diesel 4WD Ford Van to camp out of for my field work. I thought that a 25' (+/-3') Airstream Safari or Classic would be much more comfortable for extended stays (2-4 weeks), for travel around the US in 2009 when I am on sabbatical, and for a vacation "home" on some land west of the Tetons that I recently acquired.

The questions I would like help in answering include:

1. What size/weight trailer can I safely tow in the mountains with my 1997 4WD Ford power stroke diesel 350 econoline AdventureWagen. I think the van weighs about 7500 lbs with the camping conversion.

2. What would be the optimum size compromise for the trailer? (ease of towing and manuverability vs. space for living). I would mostly be working alone but would like to be able to accomodate a couple of folks to help with fieldwork or guests from time to time. My van can serve as an extra bedroom too.

3. Which series would I choose? Safari or Classic. I like the appearance and potentially greater durability of the Classic but if weight is an important issue then the Safari would probably be the better choice. I have already found some useful threads on the forum wrt this question.

I look forward to learning from you. Thanks.

Chuck Peterson

P.S. I am under no time pressure to make this purchase. I would like to take it slow and learn as much as I can before making a decision within the next year or two.
petechar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 11:35 PM   #2
Rivet Master