Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-06-2016, 10:57 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Oak Harbor , Washington
Actively looking 23-25 or close New vs Used vs Restore

Hello Airstream Family,
After many years of sizeable time periods spent in SOB "some other brand" (right??) with my husband on his remote job sites building custom homes over the years, I didn't think I would ever be interested in being in a camper again. We sold our old one several years ago. I'm a nurse, and he's semi retired. Over the last couple of years, (I can't believe I'm saying this) we began to miss it - not the job sites, but the intimacy of having our home away from home; not to mention we're getting older and the tents hurt.... a little.

Recently, we've been walking the local state parks, and specifically Deception Pass State Park. We've developed Airstream Fever - yes, a nurse diagnosis! We NEEEEED one! So, here we are - decision time and a good time of year to buy. The question is: new - 50-60K, used 30-40K, or restore 5-10K. Currently, it's between spanking new or restore. My husband is super handy and although we understand this would be a learning curve; if others can do it, he can too, and others have been successful. Anyway, wish us luck. Let us know if you know of anything out there that would be good one way or the other. Adventures On!
sevbldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 12:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey