Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-08-2011, 06:34 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1964 22' Safari
Fort Collins , Colorado
Question About to purchase a 1966 safari 22ft.

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum and hopefully new to a 1966 22ft safari this weekend! It is in pretty good shape. It has a new black water tank that the seller said the shower and toilt drain into. And a new grey water tank they put under the closet for the sink. New cork flooring throughout. It needs a new water heater and the canopy is in so so shape he thinks. (hasnt pulled it out yet) The skin is good, with only a few minor dents. I don't know about the axle yet. I have yet to look at this trailer in person. That will happen this weekend. I understand that the total weight of the trailer is 3360 lbs. (through research online) It also has a new weight distribution hitch.(don't know how more that adds.) I have a 2007 Saturn Outlook AWD V6 vehicle with a tow capacity of 4500lbs. Do you think my vehicle will be sufficient to tow? Also, if the axle is original, it will have to be replaced. How much do you think that would be? How do I know if it is original or not? I don't know how much paperwork they have to back things up. I will find out more this weekend. The owner is asking 10,000. I think it is a little high, from researching online other trailers in better shape and others in worse shape. But he is not completely out of the ballpark. I think I can negotiate a bit lower. He has other offers on the table, but not sastisfied with them. And we seemed to "connect" on the phone. He is in oregon, and the trailer is in CO at his sisters house. They are selling due to the father being in a nursing home recently. The father bough