Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2007, 12:24 AM   #1

1954 22' Flying Cloud
santa rosa , California
54 Flying Cloud art studio

I have a 1954 Flying Cloud that I am going to rig for doing art. I am a designer and have fantasized for some time about doing an AS dedicated to plein air painting.

No potty...outdoors works for me.
No kitchen...Thai takeout works for me.
No shower...don't need one.
No beds...air mattress on the floor works for me.
No sinks...don't need one.

OK AC outlets...to make coffee
OK couple of shelves...for art supplies
OK a cabinet or two...to rest the coffee maker
OK for some electricity for a light bulb and a radio

But that is about it. Very spartan! I'm going to get some of my painter friends[listed, of course] over to my house, pour a lot of wine and do a Jackson Pollack style drip painted canvas floor cloth to go on the new marine plywood floor. Zolatone the interior. voila...finis!

I'm going save all the discarded parts. Stash them out in a barn. Well this olde 54 was last registered in Idaho about 19 years ago. I picked it up in Eastern Oregon. I think it spent the last 50 years in the high mountain desert, which might account for it not having any serious dry rot. It still had somebodys olde western 8 track cassettes in a paper bag. Lotsa dust. I'm not going to mess with the exterior at all, except to repair all of the windows and the door. I like the charachter of a few little dings and scuffs. It has the olde red # 1110 all faded out on the stern. I like that. Then it is off to the desert to paint landscapes, drink coffee, and listen to the radio.

I'm thinking of letting other painters borrow it in exchange for a painting, if I can make sure of liability and insurance issues. Just a thought. Might change my mind. It will live quietly in the shade of some oaks, redwoods, and flowers