Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2020, 07:45 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 31' Classic
Gulf Breeze , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 481
Images: 1
No shore power

This happened suddenly...
Plugged into my at home, dedicated 30 amp receptacle and lost power.

Checked the power supply by plugging into the generator receptacle and got normal power.

Is there a separate fuse between the Furion receptacle And the breaker panel?

Or any other ideas?

2007 Classic 31
30 amp system
__________________

trumpetguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 08:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,057
2007 Classic - 30 amp service?
No separate plug for generator? Ergo, no transfer switch?
If using the same power cord with the generator and house current, the problem must be in the house... no fuse between cord and the converter, obviously.

House 30 amp circuit new? If so, there is the problem.

At this point I am calling the dude that installed.the 30 circuit... it is miswired or there is more than just the Airstream wired into it.
__________________

__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 10:30 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 593
You may have two circuit breakers. One in the main panel where the wire to the 30 amp hook up is and possibly a breaker with the 30 amp hook up. It may be nothing more than one or both are not on.


Dave
NoResults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 11:11 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
SSquared's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 730
So you are saying that your trailer had two shore power connectors, and you get power with one of them but not the other?

If you have two power input connectors, you have a hidden device called an automatic transfer switch. It feeds per from whichever of the two inputs you connect into the circuit breaker box. When it fails, it usually gets stuck in one position.

I don't know if the ATS in the 2007 models can be repaired, or if you will have to replace it. Or you might have a loose wire.

The ATS is probably attached to the back of the circuit breaker box.
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 01:47 AM   #5
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7,930
No shore power

Bingo. Correct answer SSquared.

Sounds like a typical failed transfer switch. The fun bit will be finding it, then figuring out a replacement that fits in the space allowed...

From the department of overkill engineering:

I installed a second generator port on the front end of my 30 amp Airstream.

Upgraded to the new orange snap-in SmartPlug heavy duty Marine rated shore connectors on both ends.

I installed a manual 30 amp three position (shore-off-generator) polarity indicating transfer switch from BlueSea Systems. Less mechanical stuff to get wonky. Besides, I have full control over a switch, occasional Luddite that I can be.

The internal hard wired surge protector cleverly shoehorned behind the 120 volt breaker panel will sense, check voltage and polarity and delay the full load being dropped on the system to prevent most “hot switching” under load that eats contacts, and can extend the life of the manual switch and other components from pedestal to appliances.
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 05:18 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
STREMN's Avatar
 
2008 30' Classic S/O
Hampton Beach , New Hampshire
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 568
Automatic Transfer Switch

Hi trumpetguy,

We've got a 2008 Classic 30' S/O. There are 2 30A exterior power connections on our trailer. Street side back corner and street side front...the concept being the front for a generator hookup from the back of your tow vehicle.

The Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) is located in the rear storage compartment on the street side in the same area as the external 30A power connector.

There's a secret compartment door that pulls down from the top to provide access to the switch and it's associated wiring. Really tough working in the area with the rear hatch open and having to lean way in to get anything maintenance wise done.

I've included a photo of the switch with the compartment door open and the "manual" for the device.

All the best!

Tom - S/OS #025
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ATS Location.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	187.8 KB
ID:	365031  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ATS301OwnerGuide.pdf (371.6 KB, 4 views)
__________________
- Tom and Wendy - AirSTREMN from New Hampshire -
- 2008 30' Classic S/O - S/OS #025 - Riding on 16" Wheels and Tires -
- Live Free or Die -
STREMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 07:41 AM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 31' Classic
Gulf Breeze , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 481
Images: 1
Thanks all. I forgot to say that I added the front generator outlet plus the transfer switch. I can check the transfer switch today. It’s less than two years old so I did not even suspect it as a problem.

The 3000 watt inverter is also switched and is working just fine so it is just the factory receptacle that is not working.
trumpetguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 10:10 AM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 31' Classic
Gulf Breeze , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 481
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmkrum View Post
Bingo. Correct answer SSquared.

Sounds like a typical failed transfer switch. The fun bit will be finding it, then figuring out a replacement that fits in the space allowed...

From the department of overkill engineering:

I installed a second generator port on the front end of my 30 amp Airstream.

Upgraded to the new orange snap-in SmartPlug heavy duty Marine rated shore connectors on both ends.

I installed a manual 30 amp three position (shore-off-generator) polarity indicating transfer switch from BlueSea Systems. Less mechanical stuff to get wonky. Besides, I have full control over a switch, occasional Luddite that I can be.

The internal hard wired surge protector cleverly shoehorned behind the 120 volt breaker panel will sense, check voltage and polarity and delay the full load being dropped on the system to prevent most “hot switching” under load that eats contacts, and can extend the life of the manual switch and other components from pedestal to appliances.


Do you have a part number for the Blue Sea switch? I looked and all I see are manual switches.
trumpetguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 11:33 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 31' Classic
Gulf Breeze , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 481
Images: 1
So it wasn’t the transfer switch. I checked some connections and there was a wire that was just not connected as tightly as it could be so redid that and everything is all well. Thanks for everybody’s input.
trumpetguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 11:53 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,057
Thanks for letting everyone know what you found.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 12:15 PM   #11
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7,930
No shore power

I did use a 30 amp manually operated Blue Sea switch because of a tight space that would not allow an automatic transfer switch.

Blue Sea apparently does not make an automatic one. The other ones available don’t seem to be particularly reliable.
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 05:51 PM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 31' Classic
Gulf Breeze , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 481
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by trumpetguy View Post
Do you have a part number for the Blue Sea switch? I looked and all I see are manual switches.


Sorry. I miss read your posts. You use a manual switch. I can understand why.
trumpetguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 07:02 PM   #13
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7,930
No shore power

Not a problem. I misread posts all the time.

In my case, the joys of getting old...and tired.
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 07:58 AM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 31' Classic
Gulf Breeze , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 481
Images: 1
__________________

trumpetguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic refrigerator won’t run on shore power& water heater light on when on shore po fotoman1527 General Repair Forum 22 04-10-2018 02:57 PM
Shore power but no battery power RogerLG Lights - Interior & Exterior 6 09-28-2012 01:53 PM
shore power/battery power wiring NavyDavesCvl Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 10-13-2010 06:32 PM
Power surging from shore power in my Excella 500? NVDeputy Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 10-09-2009 11:52 AM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 08:23 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.