Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1965 - 1969 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-10-2014, 01:47 PM   #1
JRS

1969 27' Overlander
Windsor , Colorado
Newbie - Showin' off the small things

Hi All! I just picked up an ALL 100% ORIGINAL (down to the propane tanks) 1969 Land Yacht. I am in the process of bringing her up to being usable interior wise - outside she's in good shape. I am new to trailers in general and cutting my teeth on an antique airstream. I haven;t quite figured out if that is a good or a bad thing.

Anyway, I will be putting screens in this weekend as there aren't any in there currently. Looks like the screens go in with the beading and a tool - piece of cake. But as I looked at it, I noticed that the window levers have gaping oval holes open to the outside. Mine has some glue residue around each of these holes which looks like there was something there originally, however, I can't seem to find any indication of what that may have been through my interwebs searching. I have seen screens that cover these levers, but they don't appear to be original. So, I started looking at making my own alternative.

I got a hold of a few sheets of acrylic, some door sweep refills, and a laser cutter. I made this in 3 layers - sandwiched together, and eventually screwed into place and held internally with some industrial double faced tape. I suppose it won't have to be this thick, but I wanted it to be rigid. This is just a prototype. I will fit it up this weekend and make sure it will fit.