Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-26-2013, 01:33 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1971 31' Sovereign
Southern Pines , North Carolina
Lightbulb Total Newbie - how much restoration ?

I'm a complete newbie so bear with me on these questions. I have read a lot about replacing the floor, shell off vs. shell on restoration. I however haven't found much about why you would want to do a shell-off vs. a shell on. I have no leaks, no rot on the plywood subfloor. The original flooring is gone. Is there any reason we should consider a shell off restoration other than being self-proclaimed DIY masochists. We want to get the job done right the first time. I certainly don't want to redo the floor and everything else and then find I should have taken the shell off and fixed something we missed.
GHFdaja87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:04 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Since you say you have no subfloor rot the only reason left is bad frame rust or frame damage. This is most likely near axle mounting, on or near the tongue and near the back bumper.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:07 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1957 26' Overlander
1989 35' Land Yacht
Oakdale , California
What year and model?
Tmck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:15 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1971 31' Sovereign
Southern Pines , North Carolina
1971 Sovereign. We bought it in New Mexico so the rust damage is really minimal. The shell is in great condition.
GHFdaja87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:30 AM   #5
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Portsmouth , Virginia