Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-03-2016, 09:43 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
hallsville , Missouri
Shell weight of 1973 Sovereign LY

Hello AF gurus!
I am a complete AS newb, and in my usual form I dug in deep and bought a beast in need of the Full Monty. In the interest of bragging rights as much as economy I want to do as much of the restoration as possible my self. I've been gutting and as I had suspected the subfloor wants replaced, so the body must come off.
I have a horse barn with a center isle that will easily accomodate the AS, and working in there will make the winter much more productive. I was wondering if I could take further advantage of the bulding by using the cross beams of the barn to hang the shell from (after bracing the inside of course).
Any clue how much the outer skin and windows of a 31ft 1973 Sovereign Landyacht might weigh? It'd be real handy, unless I pull down the barn on top of the trailer. Then not so much...
themostream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 09:21 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Superior , Colorado
My estimate for my 33' Streamline shell with window glass intact was 20lb lineal foot. In Missouri you might have snow load requirements of 20lbs sqft, so 600-700 lbs is really not much.
Most of China
ericpeltier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 09:35 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2021 16' Bambi
2021 22' Bambi
Currently Looking...
North Port , Florida
Under 1000#s definitely. I scrapped a WB 34' years ago and didn't have a 1/2 ton
cliffcharb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 09:43 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1973 31' Excella 500
Vicksburg , Mississippi