Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-30-2005, 02:52 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 29' Ambassador
Charlotte , North Carolina
Question Rubber floor tiles???

Has anyone replaced carpeting with rubber flooring tiles? I've read through many threads about vinyl tile, cork, and wood floor replacments, but see no one using rubber tiles. These have no adhesive, but channels that lock them in place next to each other.... Hubby is wild about them, and I wanted to make sure there was no downside? We do not move the Airstream...it is our campsite on our farm, so I'm not that concerned about tiles breaking during movement. Sandy
slmontgomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 03:25 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Hi Sandy, and welcome to the forum,

I have no direct experience with rubber floor tiles, but there is every reason to believe they would have similar properties as any other type of tile, with regard to temperature swings, would.

If you plan to keep your Ambassador at a constant temperature year-round, Hubby's preference would work just fine. But if your Airstream's interior is not temperature regulated through summer & winter, I would expect that you will see gaps develop between the tiles over time.

The tiles themselves will not necessarily be damaged, but the gaps will allow dirt & water to accumulate.

Tom
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 04:46 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1976 Argosy 24
now being enjoyed by Heath and Mary in , Vermont
Sandy:

Can you direct me to a site or otherwise give some information on the rubber tile?

Presently, I plan to remodel with Marmoleum, a new concept in old fashioned linoleum.

go to www.themarmoleumstore.com

Sergei
SmokelessJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 05:00 PM   #4
Rivet Master

San Angelo , Texas
Sergei,