Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-11-2010, 03:58 PM   #1

1960 28' Ambassador
Dayton , Ohio
Rotten frame woes

This is my first time in a forum. I just recently purchased a 1960 ambassador. I noticed the floor was rotten, so I peeled up the floor from the kitchen, forward. The main frame seems to be in good shape, still having black paint but some of the outriggers off the main frame were rotten so I replaced with
4 in. X .125 C-channel. however when I got to the front of the frame where the water tank was sitting the main frame had rusted thru. I am going to replace the trailer tounge to the first angled outriggers. Does anyone know if the frame will tweak if i saw the tounge off back to the first outriggers, and what is the thickness of the Frame.

Thanks Dan
danny- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 05:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

, Minnesota
I had the same thing going on with my '59. An unseen leak from the water tank had caused the frame to rust through. As you can see in the first picture below, the frame is not a simple piece of rectangular tubing. There is some kind of reinforcing inside the main frame.

The easiest fix is to make up some channel out of 10 gauge and just weld it over the existing tubing. I did this four years ago and it's been on the road since with no problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Frameoff 021.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	116856   Click image for larger version

Name:	Frameoff 026.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	116857  

markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 06:59 PM   #3

1960 28' Ambassador
Dayton , Ohio
Thanks Mark