Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-14-2013, 09:20 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1971 31' Sovereign
1972 31' Sovereign
1983 31' Airstream310
Soddy Daisy , Tennessee
Replacing Floor - Rot

Does the body have to be supported to remove the plywood floor, Im new to repairing airstreams and I am curious if the floor can be taken out and the body not fall down around my ears while I'm inside of it
cole3444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Dazed and Confused

Currently Looking...
1983 31' Airstream310
Hillsburgh , Ontario
The MH that I replaced the floor in recently had a C shaped channel that the plywood was inserted into; taking out the plywood didn't cause any deformation with the channel at all. HOWEVER that being said, pull out a section of say six inches of flooring out of the channel to gauge the thickness and strength of your channel.

I have replaced my floor with this product on the outside where damage from leaks can occur.

Coosa Composites, LLC - Manufacture of high-density, fiberglass-reinforced polyurethane foam panels

I also used a 11 ply marine plywood for the rest of the floor where sustained moisture wouldn't be an issue.

Yes these products do cost more than regular ply or OSB BUT I never have to worry about rot, mildew, fungus or rot ever again. I would also surmize that it will increase the resale value of my coach should I sell it.
Isuzusweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:35 PM   #3
USN/LAPD Retired

2005 25' Safari
North Las Vegas , United States
What really angers me is that we paid a hefty price for these toys and one would expect better longer lasting quality..... ;0(