Old 10-01-2020, 03:19 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1967 28' Ambassador
Waco , Texas
67 Ambassador 28' Shell Question

I intended to remove the shell the way many of you have suggested in other posts and built a gantry before I noticed my shell doesn't seem to fit the patterns of other models--or I'm just confused.

I was expecting to detach the shell from below the C-Channel, lift it off, pull out the frame and set the shell on the ground while I worked on the frame. But, it looks like my shell doesn't attach to the frame the way I expected it to. Instead of attaching at the C-Channel, it continues and attaches to the bottom of the frame. I see I can't set it down on the ground. Is that normal?

My sons have suggested I cut a four-foot-wide section out of the floor and attempt a "shell-on" rehab--which many of you have said is not the way to go.

So, is this shell attachment just a '67 thing? Am I missing something. How should I continue?

P.S. I am new to this and just getting started but I have already benefitted MUCH from reading your wisdom and experience. Thank you!

DougSay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 03:47 PM   #2
Always learning

1972 29' Ambassador
1962 19' Globetrotter
1951 21' Flying Cloud
Central , Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to Lance M
Hi. 66-69 (maybe a few more years +/-) Airstreams have the side sheets that wrap under to form a bit of the belly pan. The C (U) channel is still similar.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/wVELWoHp6QDFQv5x5

Your picture doesn't show.

Work is never done, so take time to play!
Lance M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 06:36 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 24
1961 28' Ambassador
1968 26' Overlander
Lafayette , Colorado