Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-07-2017, 08:25 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Wichita , Kansas
Which Airstream vintage model?

Hi, I’m new to the Airstream Forum. I don’t have an Airstream at this time but I’m doing some research to help me narrow down all the models there are. I haven’t decided whether I want to purchase a more recent model or get into a shell-off restoration on an older model. Sunlight is a very important factor for me, especially as I plan to live and travel in it full-time. Ultimately, I want an Airstream travel trailer that is at least 27 feet long, doesn’t have SOs, and has the most window and/or largest window openings. Which vintage models would you suggest I consider?
HighRoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:07 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Welcome High Road: Let me see if I can get a discussion going on what you might be looking for. You mention a couple of key requirements like "full time", > 27', lots of sunlight.

I might suggest you look for the 34', triple axle Classic, or Limited models. They started making them in 1983 and pretty much stopped regular production in or around 2008. We have a 86 Limited. You can find a couple of floor layouts for these models, e.g. twin beds or a double bed. Check on the Airstream.com website, archived documents.