Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2014, 07:16 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Fort Lauderdale , Florida
Trailer vs Interstate, need advice (Newbie)

Hi, Please help me decide if I should get a trailer or an Interstate Van.
I am interested in the Flying Cloud 19 being pulled by a 2500 Cummings Diesel truck.
What concerns me:
1. The fridge is not a 3-way and you can not run it while traveling to keep your food cold. Propane while driving might not be safe, correct?
2. There is no generator. I live in Florida and it would be nice to run the A/C in case there is no hookup.
I am new at this and would appreciate any other advice.
Thanks, Gerhard
gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 07:35 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2005 25' Classic
1986 32' Excella
1965 22' Safari
2006 22' Interstate
Newark , Delaware
Hi Gerhard,

I have a 2006 Interstate which my wife and I use more often than I ever imagined. It is great for camping, tailgating UD football games, picking up guests at the airport in high style, visiting friends and relatives and only asking for a flat spot and a power cord. Fuel economy is far better than pulling a trailer. We have taken it to Alumapalooza for the last three years where trailers far outnumber vans. Trailer owners seem to love the van, van owners seem to love the trailers.

Advantages of the van...while on the road, passenger can use the rest room, Fridge runs on propane while driving, you can start the generator and microwave a meal en route. The non driver can walk around, stretch legs, sit in the back and read. Disadvantages of the van....wet bath, shower means everything in the BR is wet, sofa becomes your bed, you must make it and put linens away every morning. An airstream trailer will (supposedly) last forever, the Interstate is a motor vehicle, they will wear out eventually.

Hope these ideas help your decision.